Variational Quantum Regressor in Pennylane

I am fairly new to Pennylane and Quantum ML. I had recently used the Qiskit Variational Quantum Regressor using angular rotation as feature map and SCA entanglement as ansatz. I was trying a similar workaround in Pennylane that would work fine for neural network regressor.
Can someone please help me around with this?
Thanks in advance

Hi @AKSHITA1,

Welcome, thanks for your question! :slightly_smiling_face:

As a small intro, there is a growing number of templates we have in PennyLane, some could potentially be helpful here.

I think we might not have the exact recipes here, but fortunately, there are some tools we can use to create custom implementations. :slight_smile:

For the feature map: could potentially embeddings such as the AngleEmbedding template be useful? A neat example of using rotations to encode features can be found for example in the demonstration on the Variational Classifier.

For the ansatz, as per the Qiskit documentation, I was looking into Sim et al. and in specific at Circuit 14 (there seems to be a small adjustment Qiskit makes, might have to apply that in this example too).

One layer of the ansatz could look something like this:

import pennylane as qml
from pennylane import numpy as np

dev = qml.device('default.qubit', wires=4)

@qml.qnode(dev)
def ansatz(p1, p2):
    for p, w in zip(p1, wires):
        qml.RY(p, wires=w)
    qml.broadcast(unitary=qml.CRY, pattern=[[3,0], [2,3],[1,2], [0,1]], wires=[0,1,2,3], parameters=p2)
    return qml.state()

wires = [0,1,2,3]
p1 = np.linspace(0., np.pi, len(wires))
p2 = np.linspace(0., np.pi, len(wires))
print(qml.draw(ansatz)(p1, p2))
 0: ──RY(0)─────╭RY(0)────────────────────────╭C─────────╭─ State 
 1: ──RY(1.05)──│──────────────────╭C─────────╰RY(3.14)β”€β”€β”œβ”€ State 
 2: ──RY(2.09)──│───────╭C─────────╰RY(2.09)β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”€β”œβ”€ State 
 3: ──RY(3.14)──╰C──────╰RY(1.05)────────────────────────╰─ State