Help with Optimizers and speedups

Hi!
I am new to Pennylane, and have some questions regarding how to gain some speedups with some of the code that I have. My goal is to see how QAOA performs with both increasing graph sizes and depth. In order to get some data, I need to run the simulations multiple times, however, my code quickly becomes inefficient as I increase the number of qubits or the depth of the QAOA circuit. So I’m curious about 3 things:

Which qubit device is recommended to use to get increased speed? (I am currently using default.qubit)
Is there any efficient way to run the optimization? (possibly jit-ing the computations?)
I calculate the expectation-value of the hamiltonian using the ExpVal function. Is there an argument that can be passed to increase the speed of these evaluations?

Currently, running a 6 qubit system on a regular 3-degree graph requires around 15 minutes to run.

Here is some of the code that I have written. Note that the “edges” structure in my case is essentially just a list with tuples (i,j,w) that describe the edges with their corresponding weights, while graph is a networkx class. Out of these classes, it is QAOA complete in particular I think that is the slowest part of the code, so any help in speeding that part of the code would be incredibly helpful. Thanks in advance for any tips :slight_smile:

Here is the python file if it is easier to read off that: QAOA-MaxcutAttempt.py (10.5 KB)

def ProblemUnitary(edge1,edge2,t,weight):
    """Creates the problem unitary which is specific to MaxCut. Applies e^{-i t H_c}

Args:
        edge1 ([int]): [The control qubit]
        edge2 ([int]): [The target qubit]
        t ([type]): [The t in the expression]
        weight ([float]): [weight of the edge between the nodes in the graph]
    """
    qml.CNOT(wires = [edge1,edge2])
    qml.RZ(2*t*weight,wires = edge2)
    qml.CNOT(wires = [edge1,edge2])

def MixerUnitary(edge1,t):