About Bell states

Hi, I am a newbie in this QC area. If I want to produce |βxy>, how could I change the default input(x=0, y=0)
|βxyi =(|0, y> + (−1)^x |1, 1-y>)/√2

Hi,

in general a Bell state can be obtained by applying a Hadamard gate to one qubit and then use this qubit as the control of a CNOT gate whose target is the other qubit you want to generate. For example, if you start with |0,0\rangle and apply these operations, you get

|\Psi_+\rangle = CNOT_{1,2} H_1 |0,0\rangle = (|0,0\rangle + |1,1\rangle)/\sqrt{2}.

If you want to generate all the other Bell states, the only thing you have to do now is to choose different default inputs such as (x=0, y=1). This one you can obtain it by doing a flip operation (apply X operator) over the second qubit.

If you need any other help about the implementation, or any other question, I’ll be glad to help you :slightly_smiling_face:

Thank you! I have solved this problem this morning. Would you mind explaining more about qml.sample and qml.prob (I want to know the mathematics expressions since I am studying QC these days and trying to practice more.)

Sure!

With qml.sample basically what you are doing is a measurement in the computational basis, i.e. of the Z operator. So assume that you have defined your device in such a way that it does a single shot (in qml.device write shots = 1) and your state is the Bell state I wrote before. Then, according to that probability, it will give you either a list [1,1] corresponding to state |00\rangle or [-1,-1] corresponding to state |11\rangle. Of course, this is true if you tell the circuit that you want measures over both qubits.