Preparing Bell State

Hi,
I am new in QC and was wondering how to prepare a Bell state of N qubits? I’m coding in python.

Hi @xnt, welcome to the forum and to the quantum computing community!

Here’s an example of how you could code this for 2 qubits in PennyLane:

import pennylane as qml
from pennylane import numpy as np

dev = qml.device("default.qubit", wires=2, shots=100)

@qml.qnode(dev)
def circuit():
    qml.Hadamard(wires=0)
    qml.CNOT(wires=[0, 1])
    return qml.sample(qml.PauliZ(0)), qml.sample(qml.PauliZ(1))

result = circuit()
isBell = np.all(result[0] == result[1])

print(isBell)

Here we’re first importing PennyLane and Numpy from PennyLane.

Then we’re creating a device. In this case we have chosen a simulator called ‘default.qubit’ as our device. You can chose from a several different devices from different providers, however I recommend starting by using default.qubit or lightning.qubit for simplicity. Within the device we specify the number of qubits, which in PennyLane are called wires. In this case we have 2 qubits (2 wires). Finally, we have specified the number of shots for this device. We need to do this since we’re going to use ‘sample’ in our measurement, but this is not necessary if you use other kinds of measurements.

The next step is to attach the quantum circuit to the device. For this we write @qml.qnode(dev) right before the definition of our circuit. The circuit is a normal Python function. By using this decorator we have turned our quantum circuit into what we will now call a qnode.

Within our quantum circuit we can now add the gates, embeddings and other normal things you would add to a quantum circuit.

Finally, the return value of your quantum circuit must be a measurement. You can learn more about measurements here. In this case we’re sampling from wires 0 and 1, and we’re performing the measurement on the Z basis.

Once we have defined our circuit we can execute it by calling the function. In this case we call circuit().