Which hardware devices could be used in place of "default.qubit"?

Hi all! I’m new to Penny Lane - and to Quantum Computing in general. I’m a little bit confused about the different quantum hardware devices that can be accessed from Penny Lane: what I seem to understand is that, for example, “default.gaussian” cannot be used in place of “default.quibit” - because, apart from the fact that I am looking for a hardware device and it’s simulator, it works completely in a different way - it does not encode information inside individual quibits. So my question is, apart from real quantum devices offered by Quiskit, which I suppose can replace “default.quibit”, which ones could be used too in this case?

Hi @eddybudge,

Welcome to the forum and thanks for your question! :slight_smile:

That’s right, default.gaussian uses the continuous-variable quantum information model used for photonic quantum computing. It is a simple device for simulating photonic quantum circuits that contain Gaussian operations. If you’d like to learn more about photonic quantum computing and the theory behind, refer to Strawberry Fields, Xanadu’s other software library for photonic quantum computation.

In the qubit case, there are multiple further plugins that offer access to hardware devices apart from the PennyLane-Qiskit plugin. These are:

Note that accessing such devices requires a dedicated user token or user access from the hardware maintainer.

The PennyLane-Forest plugin further offers a hardware simulator device, the QVMDevice which can be configured to simulate QPU devices offered by Rigetti. This can be used locally without any required user token.

Hope this helps, let us know if you have further questions!

2 Likes