When does autograd need help?

I am new to Pennylane so please forgive the naivete of my question. You seem to be using autograd, but you also use this nice trick of evaluating derivatives of Rx, Ry, Rz at theta with an explicitly formula. I’ve never used autograd before. I assume it complains when you use a function of bumpy that is unsupported. So why the explicit formula? Does autograd complain about something that the explicit formula circumvents? When does autograd need help in taking the derivative of a Variable of Pennylane?

You seem to create your own dag which exists at the same time as the dag that autograd creates. Is that correct? When you do backprop to calculate the grads, do you use your dag or autograd’s

Hi @rrtucci

PennyLane was designed from the forefront to be

1. quantum hardware focused
  2. hardware (and, by extension, framework) agnostic

So, while we could have simply used autograd’s NumPy functions to simulate the QNode (and then have autograd work out the gradient itself), this would not work with most Python frameworks (we would have to monkey-patch their import of NumPy, or they might be using a C extension), non-Python based frameworks, as well as physical quantum devices.

In this approach, we completely decouple the automatic quantum gradient calculation from autograd.

Autograd essentially sees the QNode as a black box — when backpropagation reaches the QNode, PennyLane takes over, and uses the analytic gradient formulas to query the quantum device directly to determine the gradient of that part of the computational graph (as well as more advanced behaviours, such as parameter fanout, taking care of the chain rule, etc., hence the use of the internal QNode DAG). This will work with both external quantum simulators and hardware.