Simulate matrix multiplication using coherent state inputs

Hi, I’m very new to continuous variable quantum computing (I am already familiar with discrete variable qc). I am trying to simulate a matrix vector operation (between some unitary U and a vector A to get an output vector B) using a 4-mode optical interferometer with coherent states as the input but I am frankly completely lost at this point. This is straightforward to do when I initialize each mode to Fock states but I cannot figure it out when I initialize the modes with coherent states. The steps I have taken to solve this problem so far are:

1. Encode the input vector A=(a_0, a_1, a_2, a_3) into the 4 input coherent modes using displacement encoding (setting \alpha=a_j \text{ for } j=0,1,2,3). This was done using ops.Coherent(a_j) | q[j] for each qmode j.

2. Apply the unitary U to the qmode register via an optical interferometer i.e. ops.Interferometer(U) | q

3. Running the circuit on the Fock backend and then extracting \alpha from the final state vector using (np.sqrt(finalstate.mean_photon(j)[0])). I do this because the mean photon number of each coherent mode is \alpha^2 and can thus just take the square root of this to get the resulting vector B.