Rotosolve can be used in case of QNNs?

Hi, I’m one of PennyLane lovers!

I studied a nice algorithm of Rotosolve in a PennyLane demo.
I think that it is very powerful optimization scheme for VQE, QAOA etc.

Quantum circuit structure learning — PennyLane

Is it possible to apply the Rotosolve to QNN?
How?

Unlike VQE and QAOA, in QNN, the cost function depends on the input classical data.
We have to minimize |H - Y| instead of H.

Hey @Kuma-quant,

That is an excellent question, since the use of this optimiser is a bit more specific than the usual classical ones.

As you may have seen, according to the docstring the objective function can be any function as long as we know that it is a Fourier series in the trainable arguments up to degrees indicated in the num_freqs kwarg. This is exactly the property of quantum expectations that rotosolve uses.

Of course, if you have data-dependent QML cost functions, it is very hard to specify the “frequency” structure of the cost, so I’d say that you cannot use Rotosolve easily for such tasks.

But let me also ask a colleague for the details, maybe we can use methods from general parameter shift rules…will get back to you!

Hey @Kuma-quant ,

A great question indeed! We have not explored an exact classification of objective functions beyond expectation values that are accessible for Rotosolve yet.
Maria is right with her answer, and as long as you know the correct frequencies of your objective function, you should be good to go!
However, as so often, there are details!

For classical post-processing of circuit outputs there are multiple ways of reconstructing: Reconstruct the circuits and combine them classically via the post-processing that already is classsical, or reconstruct the full objective function right away. It is not obvious which approach is better!

Let me give an example:
Consider the QNode and objective function

dev = qml.device("default.qubit", wires=1)

@qml.qnode(dev)
def circuit(weight, inp):