Questions about parallel execution

Hi.
For context, I’m trying to optimize the execution of VQE calculating the expected value of each group in parallel (I follow this tutorial for the grouping the terms Measurement optimization). I know that exist a demo (VQE with parallel QPUs with Rigetti) but I want to do it without installing external libraries.

I was looking this question (Parallel Circuit execution during optimisation), and I want to know if it possible to apply broadcasting when the circuit have more than one variable, in the answer he create some batches for a circuit that required only one parameter of input, but I want to know if it’s possible to do something similar when the circuit require two or more inputs in a simple way (for example, the parameters and one of the hamiltonian’s group).

The second thing, how can I see how many threads are using when I’m doing these parallel executions? (with the observables and circuits). As you can see, I’m not an expert in parallel calculations, this is one of my first attempt to work with it, so I’m not sure if I need to do something more to do parallel executions (modify some environment variable, installing some obligatory things or something else)
Thank in advance.

Hi @jnorambu, thanks for checking in! :slight_smile:

Hmm, actually, it’s definitely possible to feed two different sets of inputs to the circuit where you want to have parameter broadcasting. Here’s what structure a simple extension of the example you found in the forum thread could take:

import pennylane as qml
from pennylane import numpy as np

dev = qml.device("default.qubit", wires=2)

@qml.qnode(dev)
def circuit2(features):
    qml.AngleEmbedding(features[0], wires=range(2))
    qml.AngleEmbedding(features[1], wires=range(2))
    return [qml.expval(qml.PauliZ(i)) for i in range(2)]

batch1 = [0.1, 0.2]
batch2 = [0.3, 0.4]
batches = [batch1, batch2]

batches2 = [[0.2, 0.4], [0.6, 0.8]]
batchesbatches=[batches, batches2]