Qml.kernels.kernel_matrix not working

Hi everyone, I am going through the documentation of the pennylane : qml.kernels.kernel_matrix — PennyLane 0.31.1 documentation
I am new to pennylane and I have quite a lot of questions regarding syntax and basic fundamentals.

import pennylane as qml
import numpy as np

dev = qml.device("default.qubit", wires = 2, shots =None)   

Why you have chosen 2. Is this is chosen because you are using a data of features = 2 or due to some other reasons?

@qml.qnode(dev)
def circuit(x1, x2):
    qml.templates.AngleEmbedding(x1, wires, dev.wires) 
    qml.adjoint(qml.templates.AngleEmbedding)(x2, wires= dev.wires) 
    return qml.probs(wires= dev.wires)

What exactly is AngleEmbedding?
What is qml.adjoint and what are the arguments you are putting in to this adjoint function? What I understand is that x2 is the argument, wires= dev.wires is the argument. Is qml.templates.AngleEmbedding is also the argument?

kernel = lambda x1, x2: circuit(x1, x2)[0]

I really donot understand how is this function call working? We donot know the value of x1 and x2?

X_train = np.random.random((4,2))  
X_test = np.random.random((3,2))   
qml.kernels.kernel_matrix(X_train, X_test, kernel)

This line is not executing in the code and is giving a error. Even if it works, what exactly is the kernel_matrix how exactly do this calculation works?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ValueError                                Traceback (most recent call last)
Cell In[26], line 1
----> 1 qml.kernels.kernel_matrix(X_train, X_test, kernel)

File ~/anaconda3/envs/pennylane_study/lib/python3.11/site-packages/pennylane/kernels/utils.py:132, in kernel_matrix(X1, X2, kernel)
    129 N = qml.math.shape(X1)[0]
    130 M = qml.math.shape(X2)[0]
--> 132 matrix = qml.math.stack([kernel(x, y) for x, y in product(X1, X2)])
    134 if qml.math.ndim(matrix[0]) == 0:
    135     return qml.math.reshape(matrix, (N, M))