Pennylane+Cirq or PennyLane+ StrwberryFields for NISQ

Hello, I just started to use pennylane. (I installed a few min ago). Normally I am using cirq. But this time I am studying with NISQ and I want to optimize noise for NISQ. Now I am confused. Should I continue with Pennylane+Cirq or Pennylane+ StrawberryFileds. StrawberyyFileds includes quantum photonic chips. However I really do not know should I really design my NISQ chip with StrawberyyFields or Should I continue with Pennylane+Cirq and build some noisy ansatz circuits. My aim is minimizing systematic errors like error of each gate added up might be the wrong way to go

Best regards
And thanks :slight_smile:

Hi @nisq and welcome to the forum!

Regarding the choice of PennyLane-Cirq versus PennyLane-Strawberry Fields, this all depends on whether you want to work in the qubit-based or photonic/continuous variable based model of quantum computing. You can start understanding the difference between the two models by reading here, but generally you can expect to use different gates, noise channels, and underlying states in the photonic setting. Note that the qubit setting is also supported by some built-in PennyLane devices and as well as other plugins.

It sounds like you want to do error mitigation. As of PennyLane v0.14, you can analytically differentiate your circuit with respect to noisy gates such as DepolarizingChannel. This may be an interesting thing to look at for error mitigation.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your answer. :slight_smile: For some reason my chip will arrive later and till that date, I need to find a way to find correct angle between U and U’. I have 4 different parameters and my device is very similar to that:
modernchip