Data transfer between Quantum Computers and Classical computers

Hi,

I am a newbie to PennyLane and Quantum computing in general. I am trying to understand how the data is transferred between the Pennylane device and the classical computer on which the main driver program is launched.

For example

main.py does the following

• Launches AWS Braket device (dev)
  • Creates a Helloworld circuit and maps the circuit to run on AWS Braket.
  • Provides initial parameters to the circuit.
  • Executes the circuit on AWS Braket.
    Curious how the parameters are passed in? how large the data can be transferred? Are there any limitations on this?
  • After Circuit execution, the data is transferred back to Optimizer which runs on the classical computer.
    • Again, how large the data can be transferred? Are there any limitations on this?

Thanks
Pradeep

Hi @QuantumMan, welcome to our community!

This is an excellent question! :smiley:

The question of data transfer is critical in order to understand how to use quantum computers better.

As you probably have noticed already, you cannot just “load” your data into a quantum computer the way you do for a classical one. What you do is that you embed your data into the computer by using gates. In the Templates section of the PennyLane documentation you will see that you can embed your data in different ways. Probably the easiest one to understand and use is AngleEmbedding. Using this embedding means using rotation gates in your circuit, and the rotation angle is determined by your data. So if your input data is [1,2,3], then a rotation of 1, 2, and 3 radians respectively will be applied. You can specify whether you want to use X, Y or Z rotations as shown in the docs. If your data doesn’t really fall within the [0-2pi] range then you can rescale it classically before doing the embedding.