CO2 active electrons & orbitals

I’m a high school student working on a science fair project and trying to simulate CO2 using PennyLane. There is a total of 22 electrons (C = 6, 2xO = 2x8) of which 16 are valence electrons (C = 4, 2xO = 2x6) and I think 15 molecular orbitals (C = 5, 2xO = 2x5). I have two questions: first - do I have the molecular orbital number correct, and second - is there a way to select an appropriate number of active electrons and active orbitals and do these need to be the same number? Is it just a case of determining how many qubits you have available (i.e. if I had 16 qubits then I’d choose 8 active orbitals etc)?

1 Like

Hi @JoshLipman. Thanks for using PennyLane and sorry for the late reply.

The total number of molecular orbitals depends on the type of the basis set you use. For a minimal basis set such as STO-3G, where you have one basis function per each atomic orbital, you will have 15 molecular orbitals (2 S and 3 P orbitals for each element) and 15 * 2 = 30 spin-orbitals which means that you will need 30 qubits. Now, you can select some of the electrons and orbitals by defining an active space. Regarding your questions:

1. You are correct, the total number of molecular orbitals is 15 if you are using a minimal basis such as STO-3G. You can find more info here.

2. Defining a chemically meaningful active space depends on the problem and usually requires some experience. However, in practice, the only restriction is that the number of active spin-orbitals should be larger than the number of active electrons. For instance, you can have 2 active electrons and 2 active orbitals (i.e. 4 spin-orbitals) and you will need only 4 qubits for simulating CO2.

3. Yes, you can define the number of active orbitals based on the number of available qubits.

I hope these help. Please feel free to let me know if you have any other questions.

1 Like

Hi @JoshLipman,